- UK -

2016年にバンドの中心人物でもあるドラマーのMatthewがバンド結成に向けて、アコースティック・デモの作成を長年の友人でもあるソングライターのRobertoと一緒に行う。お互い90年代のエモーショナルバンドが大好きということもあり、Lakesにも多大な影響を与えている。地元の交友関係で知り合った、Sam Neale(ヴォーカル、グロッケンシュピール)、Charlie Smith(ベース)、Gareth Arthur(ギター)、Rob Vacher(ギター)のラインナップで、2017年にLakesをスタートさせる。SamもソロでSSWとして活動していたこともあり、バンドは2人の強力なソングライターをフロントに持つバンドとなった。2018年のRecord Store Dayに初めてライブを行い、地元のお客さんを魅了した。そして、9月にファーストEP「Tahoe」をリリース、地道な活動や楽曲制作する中で2019年1月にセカンドEP「Geneva」をリリースした。DIYスタイルでサブスクリプションなどのデジタル配信やPVなども自らプロモーションを行っている。そして、これまでの楽曲を総括したファーストアルバム「The Constance LP」を日本盤CD先行でリリース。デジタルとアナログは8月リリース予定。まだ、活動開始して1年半ぐらいではあるが、彼らが持つオリジナリティー溢れる楽曲に惹かれて、着実にリスナーを増やしている。 CDは、日本盤のみのリリース!!

What started as a naming convention for drummer Matthew Shaw’s acoustic demos, Lakes was formed with songwriter and fellow 90s emo enthusiast Roberto Cappellina, after years of playing in bands together around Watford’s thriving scene.

With a growing list of songs about empowerment, not being afraid to make mistakes, dealing with mental health and breaking out of toxic relationships, Lakes quickly evolved into a six-piece Glock Rock band; with Sam Neale (Vocals and glockenspiel), Charlie Smith (Bass), Gareth Arthur (Guitar) and Rob Vacher (Guitar) completing the line-up.

The band released two EPs in their first six months refining their Fleetwood Mac influenced dual pop melodies, signature glock hooks and American Football style math-rock guitars.

‘The Constance LP.’ will be released August 2nd on Friend of Mine Records, home to math-rock giants Yvette Young and Covet, with a limited-edition lake blue vinyl available through  from  The LP Cafe.


Roberto Cappellina
- Guitar and Vocals
Sam Neale
- Vocals, Glockenspiel, Synth, Percussion
Matt Shaw
- Drums
Rob Vacher
- Guitar
Gareth Arthur
- Guitar
Charlie Smith
- Bass